‘Blue’ – a police memoir by John Sutherland, hits No.4 in Sunday Times book rankings

A newly-published book about the Metropolitan Police has hit fourth position in the Sunday Times book rankings!

Police officers from around the country attended the London launch of Blue: A Memoir this week – a new book outlining the highs and lows of being a British Bobby.

The book by Ch Supt John Sutherland – Twitter’s @policecommander – focusses on the positive work of his Met Police colleagues during a 25-year career but also on how policing can take its toll, including its difficult to read pages on John suffering from depression.

The strapline for the book is “Keeping the Peace and Falling to Pieces.”

Speaking at the event, John said the idea for the book came from the imbalance of predominantly negative reporting about policing in the media.

He said: “For the past 25 years, I have had the privilege of doing a job I love – alongside people I truly admire.

“In its way, this book is a love letter to each one of them: my family, my city and the women and men of the police force.

“Blue tells some of their stories – some of our stories – and in doing so, tries to provide some balance to the wider story being told about policing in this country.

“But it is also a very personal story of the toll that life and policing can take. Four years ago, whilst serving as the Borough Commander for Southwark in South London, I broke. I’m still mending.”

The book features large chunks on John’s rise through the ranks, his time as a hostage negotiator, as a borough commander and has a real focus on the scourge of knife crime in the capital.

Both the speech and book resonated well with the audience in attendance at the launch in London – which also included a number of John’s friends and family.

Also there were the Kinsella family. Ben Kinsella was killed in a stabbing incident in Islington in 2008 – and John has remained in touch with them.

‘Blue: A Memoir’ went on sale on Thursday 25 May.

View on Police Oracle

____________________

As a closing note, I will add my own congratulations to Chief Superintendent John Sutherland, who is on Twitter @policecommander

Steve Shearwater

The Winter Mountaineering in Chapter 22 of ‘My Cup Runneth Over’

A winter walk in the Lakeland Fells

. Looking west across Haweswater before the start of the walk, to Riggindale Crags on the north side of Long Stile and Caspel Gate (the descent route).  Copyright photograph; all rights reserved.

Some of the nicest compliments I have received for my first book in the Cumbria Police Novels series have been for the description of a circular, mid-winter fell walk, starting and finishing at the south end of Haweswater.

2. Small Water (tarn), part way up Nan Bield pass. The path here crosses the outflowing beck (stream) and works its way around the far side. This tarn can be seen again, from the top of the pass, in photograph number 4.  Copyright photograph; all rights reserved.

Richard Wallace, retired senior lecturer in classics at Keele University, in a review of My Cup Runneth Over, kindly wrote: “…One of the most attractive features of the novel is the lively and evocative scenes of Cumbria, its people, and its landscape. I particularly enjoyed a marvellous description of a winter walk over High Street. You could feel the crunch of the snow under your boots, the cold wind on your face, and the exhilaration of getting to the top and just looking at the views. I wanted to be there!…”  (See more readers’ opinions)

3. Ill Bell (a different fell to Mardale Ill Bell) and Froswick (the more pointed summit), above Kentmere Reservoir, from Nan Bield pass.  Copyright photograph; all rights reserved.

The route, that day, went from Haweswater up past Small Water (photo 2) to the top of Nan Bield Pass.  After a look over ‘the other side’, down into Kentmere (photo 3) and shortly afterwards getting an exciting shock-of-our lives from the jet, we continued up towards the top (photo 4) of the beautifully-named Mardale Ill Bell.

4. Looking down Nan Bield pass from the flanks of Mardale Bell. Part way down the fell is Small Water – mostly frozen over – then down in the valley is Haweswater. In the far distance are the Pennines. Copyright photograph; all rights reserved.

The photograph (number 4) of the snow, beautifully sculpted into drifts against a dry stone wall, of which only the top ‘cam’ stones are visible, was taken on Racecourse Hill (read Chapter 22 for an accurate description of how a mountain got such a name!), and I believe I was standing on the top of the trig’ point (i.e. a mapmakers’ triangulation pillar) to get the necessary high viewpoint.

5. Snow drifts sculpted by wind and ice along the west side of a dry stone wall on Racecourse Hill and High Street – a former Roman Road. The fell tops at the far left are, L-to-R, Yoke, Ill Bell and Froswick. In the central far background are gleams off the water of Windermere and then the distant Morecambe Bay (Irish Sea).  Copyright photograph; all rights reserved.

Coming back down via Long Stile and Caspel Gate was interesting due to the fact that in places the snow had frozen extremely hard and in places there were large areas of sheet ice.  Attempting it without crampons could potentially have proved lethal (photo 5).

6. Eddie Wren — whose author’s pen-name is Steve Shearwater — descending Long Stile.       Copyright photograph; all rights reserved.

Steve Shearwater

Buy a paperback or online version of the novel ‘ My Cup Runneth Over’

Article and images copyright 2017. All rights reserved.

Fellow Police Officers’ Opinions of my Police Novel

First posted: 1 March, 2017

If I had trepidation when my police novel ‘My Cup Runneth Over’ was first published almost four months ago — and believe me I did — I can guarantee that at least 90 per cent of that worry was the fear about what my former police colleagues would make of it!  I had no doubt whatsoever that they could potentially become my fiercest critics.  It seems to be a result of the job, or perhaps a qualification for it, that police officers can be both critical by nature and never shy to voice their opinion.  (Don’t tell them I said that 😀 )

Cumbria Constabulary 'day' helmet (night helmets have or had a black badge and crown to make them a little less conspicuous)
Cumbria Constabulary ‘day’ helmet (night helmets have or had a black badge and crown to make them a little less conspicuous)

Buy a copy of the book (also available on Kindle)

We all know that novels must typically omit boring routine and thus condense action into a far shorter time span than that in which it will probably occur in reality, and also that at least some exaggeration is equally essential in order to maintain a good story.  In this sense, the enjoyable Inspector Morse television series always made me laugh:  Not only did Morse and Lewis deal with murders in Oxford at a rate that would have represented a national epidemic of homicides, let alone in such a relatively nice city, but those two men inevitably solved the crimes with little assistance in what would inevitably have been scenarios involving dozens and maybe sometimes hundreds of officers.  And they achieved it within the duration of one or at most two television episodes, too, instead of sometimes needing months of graft.  Oh, and Morse’s reluctance to reveal his first name was farcical — it would have to be used on every report and statement he ever wrote, let alone announced each time he gave evidence in court — but it made for a good story.  Yet addressing that ‘willing suspension of disbelief’ by readers is part of how popular stories are written.

Anyway, just as I have been overwhelmed by the generosity of the comments all people have made about my novel, so I have been stunned by the great reception it has received from those ‘dreaded’ police officers!  I’m not a fan of repetition but this aspect to me is so special that here are highlights of their reviews to date (oldest first):

2016

13 December 2016, Mr M.A. Johnston: “A brilliantly written book… The book is written, and reads, very much along the lines of the James Herriot books, and in my view is equally as well written and laid out…  if you only buy one book to read this Christmas make it this one. You won’t be disappointed.

16 December 2016, James Wilson:  “I sat and read [your book] in one sitting, really enjoyed it.  Rural policing as it should be.  Looking forward to the next installment…

2017

5 January 2017, Cliff Heaney (retired sergeant): “I have just completed the last few chapters of your book My Cup Runneth Over and felt compelled to let you know how much I enjoyed reading it.   As a retired police officer myself from that era it felt like I had been transported back in time. It was as if I was stood there beside you at some of the incidents and events you describe.
The highs and lows of policing do leave their mark on the people you deal with and the individual officers themselves. To my mind you have done an excellent job telling the stories the way you have, that in turn create the memories that an old copper like me can relate too. Thank you for that and good luck with the book. I’ll be on the look out for your next one!

5 January 2017, John Forrester:  “I’m enjoying every word.” – and, (in response to the above from Cliff Heaney) I echo the same sentiment, as a retired sergeant [myself]. I’m also on the last couple of chapters and can relate to the incidents etc. A riveting read.” 

7 January 2017, John Thorburn:  “I thought it was brill’, a little rumour, a little true life and lots of fun as we had in those days…

24 January 2017, Dick Base:  “Good read, My Cup Runneth Over… It has certainly made me reminisce.

Alan Gardner:  “I have just finished reading your book and thoroughly enjoyed it.  I have for some time been writing a few stories that jumped to mind about my own time in the police. mainly for my grandchildren to read… Have to say however, that I’m not in the same writing league as you…

Peter Lilley:  “Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed your book.  My father, Jack Lilley, was inspector at Keswick from 1959 until his death in 1967, during which time we lived at the police station.  Your stories brought many happy memories of accompanying my father on his frequent visits to outlying farms and his regular weekly ‘points’ with the village bobbies.  It was great fun trying to identify the locations used in your yarns!  Dad was also a member of Keswick Mountain Rescue Team – all your tales of the goings on and local events rang so true!  When’s the next book due out?  Can’t wait!” 

26 January 2017, David Mayer [USA]:  “Very good book and easy to read.  I would recommend this to anyone, it’s a good insight to the policing in a rural place in the Lake District, very funny with some of the stories. Well done Steve.”

11 February 2017, Keith Meadley:  “…Very good, keep it up with the next one.

13 February 2017, David Drinkald:  “As a retired Police Officer… I found this an enjoyable read.   As in any fictional account of Police activity events are exaggerated, however there is nothing here that couldn’t have happened, probably not involving just the leading character however… I hope the author gets round to writing a follow up.  I started reading one of the novels that led to the Heartbeat T.V. series years ago.  My Cup Runneth Over is much better…”

23 February 2017, Tony Cleasby:  “I enjoyed your novel ‘My Cup Runneth Over’.  Any more books in the pipeline?”

1 March 2017, David Albert:  “I enjoyed every page. Recognised myself a few times, ha ha.

8 March 2017, Andy Soper:  “…Picture the scene… it’s a late night flight and my seat is in the middle of a Boeing 737!  It’s dark, it’s quiet and I get to the chapter in the book dealing with the unfortunate Wodger Wankin! [For my laughing out loud,] I certainly received a couple of very good ‘thwacks’ from the missus sitting next to me!  As a retired Cumbria Constable and a Rural Officer to boot, this book brought it all flooding back! … This is a very, very enjoyable read and I look forward to the next one.”

14 March 2017, Mark Jenkins:  “Just read the book on holiday on Kindle. A cracking read.”

28 March 2017, Martin Buckmaster:  “I’ve just finished your wonderful book. I enjoyed every page as it brought back lots of memories from years ago when I lived at Fieldhead near Hawkshead… The book is amazing, thank you so much for writing it. Will there be any more? I do hope so, you’re a fantastic author.”

29 Mar. 2017, also Martin Buckmaster: A beautiful book very well written  This book is truly amazing in its accuracy and descriptions.  I loved every page as I found that it brought back an awful lot of memories from the early days of my own Police service in the mid sixtees.  I admit struggling with some of the place names having lived and worked for many years in the southern Lake District and I still haven’t got there yet.  A lovely, gentle story line that held me totally in it’s grip for the entire book, I sincerely hope that we will see some more books as good as this one is.  I highly recommend this book to everyone, thank you Steve

2 April 2017,  Heather Wilkinson “Dad [former Chief Superintendent Eric Greenslade] said that your book took him back to the old days, he loved it.

28 June 2017, Roger Salmon  “Just finished your book ‘My cup runneth over’. Thoroughly enjoyed it and brought back memories of my cadetship and early years. When is the next book out please?

Buy a copy of the book (also available on Kindle)

____________________

Here is a full list of all readers’ opinions I have received so far — with none left out! 🙂

 

 

Astonishing Amazon ‘star’ scores for the police novel ‘My Cup Runneth Over’

As of 12 February I have been lucky enough to get 40 reader reviews on the amazon.co.uk website (at least ten more needed, please*) and eight on amazon.com website (at least 42 more needed, please!*).

Each reader making one of those reviews can award up to five stars for the book and for the 40 reviews on the UK site I lost just three stars from the possible total of 200 – an astonishing and delightful score of 98.5%.

Full front and back cover for My Cup Runneth Over

The dot-com (USA and global) website so far has only eight reviews,  something that researchers would call a small ‘sample size’, so it is nowhere near as reliable regarding the quality and enjoyability of my novel, but even so, to date I haven’t lost any stars at all there so I’m running at 100% for now.

Thanks to ALL of you have taken the time to write any review or opinion of my book, but may I ask that for those of you who have not yet done so on any of the Amazon websites, it would help me tremendously if you could copy and paste you remarks that have been posted here on the steveshearwater.co.uk  website and put them on the relevant Amazon site please.  Likewise for anybody who has not posted one at all, please consider doing a review for me on the relevant Amazon website.  You do not need to have bought the book from Amazon in order to do this.  Just go to the site, search for Steve Shearwater (in the ‘books’ section if you are given that option) and when you find the book you should get the opportunity to ‘write a review’.

If you can do this it will help me tremendously with promoting the book – a financially and embarrassingly necessary activity for authors in this day and age – because when I reach 50 reviews on each of the two above sites (see the asterisks * in the first paragraph) Amazon will actually start promoting the book on those websites, something that is vital for my success if I’m going to carry on and write the full ‘Cumbria Police Novels’ series.  Thank you in anticipation.

Purchase the book here.

Request for a favour from readers of my novel: My Cup Runneth Over

I’m asking a big favour from anyone who likes my first novel, ‘My Cup Runneth Over’, please (even if you have already sent complimentary remarks directly to me or via Facebook).

Whether or not you have previously commented on the book – for which your collective kindness in what you have all written has been unbelievable – the most important and valuable comments for me are those that are posted on either the amazon.co.uk or the amazon.com websites where, in both cases, it is best to search for ‘Steve Shearwater’ (in the ‘books’ category if at the dot-com site) rather than for the name of the book, because there are several books with the same title. Of course, some of you already have commented on Amazon, for which I’m very grateful, and so you are exempt from this request!

When I can get enough positive reviews on each of those Amazon websites, and **I need at least 50 on each,** algorithms are triggered which would mean that the Amazon sites would then actually promote and advertise my book to other readers; something that is vital to me if I’m going to make this venture financially viable so that I can keep writing the other novels in the series.

You do NOT need to have bought your book direct from Amazon in order for you to make a comment there, it can be a book that was purchased at a bookshop or directly from myself. All they would then want is confirmation of who you are (so that one person can’t submit multiple comments).

It does NOT need to be anything lengthy; a simple “I liked the book” (or whatever) would suffice, although more detail is great, too.

For those of you who have already kindly sent me comments that are not yet on Amazon but are on the Readers’ Comments page on my website, do please see if you can find time to copy your original comment from there, edited if necessary, and paste it on the relevant Amazon page. My comments page is here.

Many thanks in anticipation.  This would really help me move forward with the planned series of novels.

Book review of ‘My Cup Runneth Over’ by the ‘Cumbria’ magazine – Part I

This month (February 2017) Cumbria magazine has published a much-shortened chapter from my novel – ‘My Cup Runneth Over’ – and next month they are kindly adding a review of the whole book.

Clearly, a book about being a young police officer stationed at a town in the stunningly beautiful Lake District National Park in the north-west corner of England has interest for British folks who know the Lake District but it has also been written to appeal to people from other countries, too – particularly those of you from the USA, where I have lived for over ten years.

Is this another example of the so-called, cultural ‘British Invasion’ in the USA?  I’d like to think so but as this is my first novel it would be silly of me to actually believe that.  I have, however, had the delightful good fortune to have had the style and humour of my novel repeatedly compared to the wonderful books by the famous veterinary surgeon James Herriot.

Remembering as well that even today the vast majority of British police officers do not carry lethal weapons, the novel offers a great insight into how such unarmed officers can operate in general safety and it also gives a great insight into rural life in England’s  second-largest and most scenic county – home of the famed ‘Lakes Poets’ such as William Wordsworth.

Dialect and police jargon are included in the writing but they are carefully explained in glossaries on the website – see the link below – so nobody need struggle to understand these fascinating cultural aspects. (The Lakeland dialect, for example, is strongly based upon Old Norse, from Viking times.)

And then, of course, there’s the crime aspect!  Naturally, none of the crimes or criminals in the book are actual events or real people, but each has been developed from my own lengthy experience in the police and the events are therefore very true-to-life and accurate in terms of police procedure back in the 1970s where the story is set.

Read here how readers from around the world have responded so wonderfully to My Cup Runneth Over.

Purchase the book (including USA) here.

The latest reader-review from the USA

Such a treasure to read!! 🙂

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of reading this book! ♡ My family are from Cumbria, England and I now live in the United States… while reading ‘My Cup Runneth Over’ I really felt closer to my home!

Steve Shearwater’s ability to transport the reader to Cumberland with his wit, memories and humour had me feeling so good! ♡ I love this book, I adore the stories and will read it again and again! ☆

Thanks, Steve… any chance of a sequel?!

 

[This review may be seen on the Amazon.com website and relates to a “verified purchase” by an “Amazon Customer” in Vermont, USA]

Novel ‘My Cup Runneth Over’ gets a double page spread and a banner headline in the West Cumbria News & Star

A delightful article about my novel (under the pseudonym of Steve Shearwater) from the Times & Star, on 16 December, 2016: